ENTERTAINMENT

Tips Industries Ltd. and PEN India Pvt. Ltd.’s Entertainment (UA) is the story of a young man whose father has died after bequeathing all his property and assets to his pet dog.

Akhil Lokhande (Akshay Kumar) struggles to make two ends meet and also has a father (Darshan Jariwala) to tend for. Suddenly, one day, Akhil is told by his father that he is not his biological father. Akhil plans to meet his biological father (Dalip Tahhil) in Bangkok but gets the news that his father has just breathed his last.

Akhil, nevertheless, goes to Bangkok and is soon joined by his bosom pal (Krushna Abhishek). To his horror, he finds out that before dying, his multi-millionaire father had willed his entire property to his pet dog, Entertainment (Junior). Akhil now struggles to have the dog killed so that he can convince his dad’s lawyer, Abdullah (Johny Lever), to transfer all the properties and businesses in his name as he is the only surviving heir.

Even as Akhil and his friend are trying to kill Entertainment, they rea­lise that Entertainment is fond of them. Why, Entertainment actually ends up saving Akhil’s life at the very place Akhil and his friend wanted to eliminate Entertainment.

Akhil now becomes friends with Entertainment. Soon, Karan (Prakash Raj) and Arjun (Sonu Sood), who are relatives of Akhil’s late father and who had been serving time in jail, are released. They come to stake their claim in the property. But Akhil, his friend, dog Entertainment and Abdullah do all under their control to not let Karan and Arjun usurp the property.

Does Akhil Lokhande succeed in his mission to oust Karan and Arjun from his father’s palatial mansion? Or do Karan and Arjun prove to be one-up on Akhil?

K. Subhash’s story may not be high on logic but it is, nevertheless, entertaining even if it is very implausible. The whole concept of a dog inheriting property worth crores and crores of rupees, from his master is quite unusual and unpalatable. However, Farhad-Sajid have written an interesting and entertaining screenplay to complement the story. Again, the screenplay goes to ridiculous levels to keep the audience smiling and laughing and because it succeeds in creating fun and laughter, the masses and family audiences will not really mind the ridiculousness of it all. Yes, a size­ able section of the audience will smirk at the proceedings but even that section will enjoy some of the jokes. The writers have tried to infuse a dash of emotions and that will go down well with the audience. Here, special mention must be made of Akhil’s friend who speaks only by referring to names of actors and celebrities to convey his thoughts. The outcome is hilarious! Also, Akhil questioning people about their professions is an entertaining track. Similarly, the track of Abdullah is very funny. In short, several scenes will have the audience in splits because they are so comical! On the other hand, there are some dull moments too, when the scenes appear to have been stretched too much. But the boredom doesn’t last too long for the audience. Climax is entertaining though predictable. Farhad-Sajid have penned excellent dialogues which increase the entertainment value of the drama. In fact, the dialogues are better than the screenplay!

Akshay Kumar does a fine job as Akhil Lokhande. He plays to the gallery and evokes laughter at a number of places. Tamannaah Bhatia is fair. She gets limited scope but does what is required of her. Krushna Abhishek brings the house down with laughter with his crazy dialogues and acting. He is a highlight of the film. Johny Lever is first-rate as the lawyer of Akhil’s dad. He raises laughter at many places. Prakash Raj is terrific as Karan. In the role of Arjun, Sonu Sood is effective. The use of the ‘Yeh bandhan toh pyar ka bandhan hai’ song in the background whenever there is a burst of emotions between Karan and his step-brother, Arjun, is wonderful. Junior, the wonder dog, is cute, endearing and expressive. Mithun Chakraborty is outstanding in a special appearance. Dalip Tahhil is alright. Vrajesh Hirjee makes his mark in a bit role. Ritesh Deshmukh makes his presence amply felt in a guest appearance. Darshan Jariwala, in a brief role, contributes in making the viewers smile and laugh. Shreyas Talpade is alright in a tiny special appearance. Hiten Tejwani is natural in a small special appearance.

Directors Farhad-Sajid have made quite a laugh riot but having said that, it must be added that the drama remains implausible. Considering that this is the duo’s first attempt at direction, the two have handled the film with the ease of a seasoned player. Their narrative style caters to the masses and the family audiences, with special masala for the kids. Sachin-Jigar’s music is very good but the absence of a chartbusitng song is sorely felt. ‘Veere di wedding’ and ‘Johny Johny’ are already very popular songs and are enjoyable in the film. Of the other songs, ‘Tera naam’ is melodious. ‘Teri mahima aparampar’ is fast-paced. Lyrics (by Mayur Puri, Priya Panchal and Ashish Pandit) are in keeping with the film’s mood. Remo D’souza’s choreography is nice. White Noise Production’s background music is effective. Manoj Soni’s camerawork is very nice. Sham Kaushal’s action and stunt scenes are good. Vinod Guruji’s sets are appropriate. Steven Bernard’s editing is sharp.

On the whole, Entertainment is an entertaining fare but with sectional appeal only. Its ridiculous story-line is a major drawback and will make its appeal restricted. It will be enjoyed by the masses, families and kids. Although it will keep the target audience in splits, its business will be less than its merits because it has just a week-long window, what with eagerly awaited Singham Returns scheduled for release next week. The producers may have made their profit but some of the distributors, particularly those who have paid heavy prices, will not be as lucky.

About komalreviews

Am a film trade analyst, hence my reviews are from the box-office point of view
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. dipok512 says:

    Really nice and entertaining movie. I’m non indian but i love Bollywood Movie’s.

  2. sameer says:

    There are so many Hollywood movies that can be unimaginable…in fact a lot of them, if not most…but we love those. Commercial movie making has a lot of fantasy. But a dog inheriting the fortunes of its master is very realistic, as there are cases of it in reality….though it might be hard to implement such wills. I am really excited for this very unusual movie.

  3. Pingback: Its Entertainment Movie Review By Various SitesHack Cheat Tools | Hack Cheat Tools

  4. Pingback: Its Entertainment Review | Bollywoodb.com

  5. {You’re absolutely a professional.|Good tips and really simple to comprehend.|You really did sparked my curiosity.|I’ve read some good things here.|I truly learned a lot here today.|This has been such a really awesome experience.|I know you would love Montana.|I’m actually in the process of building an t shirt.|Oh my goodness! A excellent article.|It’s really nice to see you still writing great articles still.|Magnificent feed back.|You might have just saved me a lot of work just now.|Although I’ve shared this blog with many people, it seems to me like very few people can grasp how important this really is.|This article is so epic that it feels like my eyeballs exploded from seeing it.|Old people and small cute animals probably like you.|I don’t even know where to go from here now that I have read this.|When I opened my computer this page was running.|This really cleared this up for me.|Very nice article!|Who raised you? They deserve a trophy for doing a great job.|I was checking out a ios app the other day but I still I just bought a t shirt and it is supposed to be shipped out by this weekend. Funny thing I believed I was a pro before reading your blog but it turns out I am a novis. There simply must be some other option then the ones you have presented here. {When I first got a bean bag chair I had no idea what to expect.|I really appreciate your efforts and I’m waiting for your next article.|This is an great, an eye-popper for sure!|I have got some great ideas for this blog so we should connect.|I really feel your website needs a lot more followers.|Do you have any video of that?|What is really awesome about your blog is that it provides really valuable information while also being funny.|This might be just what I was searching for.|This website leaves me with a yearning to discover even more on this subject.|Your site was already loaded when I opened my computer.|Write a lot more thank this, that’s all I have to say.|It is about time that we connected because I would really like to discuss to you about some of the topics you’ve brought up here.|I am always shocked that you are somehow capable to write such top level content almost every week.|With so many conflicting ios app reviews online how can someone know which one to buy?|Your viewpoint is beyond refreshing.| I’m following along with what you’re saying.|Thank you for sharing your information with us.|I simply must tell you that I really like your posts page.|Some really interesting info here.|I’d sure like to know some additional information.|I will bookmark this website.|I could have sworn I have been to this site before.|I kind of disagree with the second commenter. Top Pinterest experts would agree. {Hi from Connecticut!|Neat points.|I really do wish I was able to better understand the intricacies of this subject but most of this is lost on me.|I really appreciate this article.|I like all of the points you have made here.|Your blog is absolutely on point!|This blog didn’t really give me the exact answer I was trying to find but, your website has brought up some great points and has opened my mind on some new topics.|You really need to be thanked way more often than you are.|I’ve been using a white wine for a while now and I got to tell you that I’m a big supporter.|I’m really visiting so I can learn everything I can on this issue so I can help people with their concerns in the future.|And to think, I was really confused a moments ago.|I have just learned new insights because of your article.|I have really been thinking about getting a white wine but I really have no idea which one to buy.|This goes totally against almost everything I’ve seen so far however, I am going to do it and I will share with you the results.|Hello from New York!|I check your website about every few days.|I first came to this blog over 2 years ago and it is really great to see you are still here.|Your neighborhood is way better because of you.|You really should produce a lot more articles if you want to be an leader in this industry.|Right up until right this very moment I have had a completely different way of looking at this sort of thing.|Without proper research, your readers won’t be interested and you would lose credibility.|There is something about your website that is rather alluring and I would like to know exactly what it could be.|I was looking into a white wine the other day but I still which one to go with.

Leave a comment